Calculate Local SEO ROI and Value for Clients

How to price SEO – This is quite a difficult skill. Some companies say to price as low as possible and take on as many people as humanly possible….Others say its better to have 2-3 people paying you £2-3k a month and you have less of the client-hassles such as calls, emails etc to deal with. For local seo clients this is a very important medium too. If you haven’t already read our guest post on local seo 101 then we recommend you check it out, even if you’re only a small business owner, if you have 5-10 hours a month you can drastically increase your rankings.

The video below is really good at explaining exactly what ROI is to an SEO campaign and why its important to price your services based on ROI and not simply competition of an industry, location or keyword.

Local seo valuations are pretty similar too, you want to calculate how much the lifetime value of a customer is to a specific client and you also need to calculate an approximate conversion rate for the website. Now remember this conversion rate will be based on extremely targeted search engine traffic, and hence should be (I say should as it isn’t often the case) very high.

In an example we can take a search volume of 1,000 per month for “seo consultant” and an average lifetime value of a client at £1,000. If you ranked 1st for this time, you would likely pick up around 40% of the total search volume traffic, giving you a figure of: 0.4 x 1000 = 400 monthly visitors.

Now although these visitors are super targeted we might only have a 1-2% conversion rate. If we take 1.5% we can see that we would expect to receive 400 x 0.015 = 6 new clients a month ~ LVC of £1,000 = £6,000 in new earnings and revenue every single month!

This means its worth investing a lot of money to get to this point, as even if your ROI is negative for the 1st 3-6 months, it will be extremely positive after this. (500% + ) And its all about the long game in business and especially in search engine optimisation.

I hope you enjoyed this article and I highly recommend checking out the video above.

Thanks for reading.


Local SEO 101


This post is just on local SEO and the 3 things you HAVE TO do if you want to succeed at ranking for terms with city or county parameters.

SEO For Local Small Businesses

1. Google My business / Google Plus – This is one of the most powerful and frustrating ranking signals, you must have both your “google my business” and Google plus set up and integrated in the correct form for your business. This means putting your business name, address and phone number EXACTLY as it appears on your website. A side note on this, you must have this on your website. I recommend in the sidebar or footer but if not it must be on the contact or about pages.

2. NAPS/Citations -NAPS or citations are places where your business Name Address and Phone number is listed on another website. For example yell or yelp. This is more of a quality over quantity issue too. If you can generate 5-10 high quality NAPs that perfectly match your google business and website information, you will see a bump in your local rankings (both the google maps and the normal organic results too).

3. Relevant location backlinks – These are generally the hardest part of an SEO campaign but its important to try and generate at least 5-10 HIGH QUALITY authority domain backlinks, that are relevant to your business, niche and location. To be honest if you can get half of that quality I would recommend getting the link, but if you can get all 3 of the authority, relevance and locational from a link, then that’s perfect!

Obviously don’t forget your website structure and the on-page signals. On-page is still the biggest ranking factor, so its important to remember that a perfectly optimised website from the start makes the off-page process that much easier.

All of this is perfectly explained in the video below by Tom of SEO Oasis.

5 Quick Tips and Tricks on SEO

5 Really Easy tips and Tricks you can implement on any website to improve its ranking in the search engines

1.) Images

Optimise your images correctly. This is so simply but I see so many people do it wrong that its physically painful! There is a few quick things you should do with your images. 1.) write titles for them, including your primary keyword. For example if my keyword was SEO tips for this article I’d have an image below with the title seo tips 2. have a longer explanation in the image alt tags on what the image is, include relevant keywords here too. And third if you want to have a caption, include a personal phrase and less optimisation here, go for user experience over anything in the caption

My favourite SEO tips and tricks

2.) Titles, URLs and H1 tags

These are the 3 biggest ranking factors and in my opinion if these 3 are correctly optimised it accounts for 80% of on-page SEO! Yes I did just say 80%! Crazy I know but its true if you ask me! Use the 2 out of 3 rule that Jerry West is always banging on about (Hi Jerry!) But don’t over optimise (I use to do that.)

3.) Relevancy in linking

Don’t about the nofollow/dofollow tag, just get relevant links when you are starting up. I’m a very big advocate of relevancy over everything else! And a huge huge huge advocate of relevancy FIRST, before authority! That’s how it would work in the natural world and this is what we are trying to do with our SEO anyway.

4.) Authority links

Once you begin to rank, usually page one for the majority of your local terms, its time to get the big guns out. However you are planning on generating your links, whether you are a full white hate nazi or you are more of a in the middle guy like myself, go for authority now and you will begin to explode your rankings.

5.) Co-citations and other links

Linking out is something that’s forgotten quite a lot nowadays there are a few boxes that I recommend ticking. Linking out to governmental and educational sites. These can be Universities in your local area and maybe your local Government. As well as these links you want to link where RELEVANT to other sources. If I quoted a phrase by someone or used an image I would link back to their site, or if I think its relevant to a piece of content I’m writing and I believe that my readers would find it beneficially then that’s what I will do.

On a personal note (SEO related still) so I’m still gonna mention it here. I’ve moved to Cardiff UK and started working pretty closely with Tom Buckland over at Ghost Marketing. So I’m throwing him a link as he’s a top bloke and given me a lot of advice, I’ll sure you will get a notification, you deserve it.

Hope you liked the article!


5 Quick Hints on Print Marketing

5 quick hints to remember when you are doing a print marketing campaign.


  1. Design is everything – Don’t be cheap on your design as it will cost you more in long term. Go with a custom freelance designer or a branding agency with a strong emphasis on good design. There are many “digital marketing” and “web design” agencies that offer a brand graphic creation for your print marketing campaigns but these are absolutely terrible. Ensure you find someone with good reviews and emphasis on conversions.
  2. Link your print – To your other marketing campaigns. Tom did a good campaign on linking print to seo, you can also link it pretty easily to social too.
  3. Distribute correctly – Don’t try and “JUST send” your leaflets. Ensure you have a strong research campaign so you can find the most targeted leads and areas for your campaign. Research prospects carefully and use the saved money on DESIGN!
  4. Target – Target your audience correctly. This includes the design: colours, simplicity vs information and also your distribution which includes time of delivery, how it is delivered, presentation and who it is aimed at. Personalised print (outside of the food industry) gets only a 1% response rate on average, whereas semi-personalised prints get nearly 5%, obviously this is more expensive and takes more time but the conversion rate increases must make this useful!?
  5. Calculate profitability – Always use your research and optimisation to calculate the ROI and how profitable a campaign with be. Conversions are everything if you spend £10,000 but expect a ROI of 200%, this is a successful campaign. But if your predicted conversions we wrong, you will end up losing money that could have been used in other marketing material.

Introduction and about Me – SEO, PPC + Previous Life

Hello and welcome to my blog. My name is Harry Ford and I’m a simplistic lover of search marketing. My design skills are a bit lacking but when it comes to search engine optimisation, pay per click marketing and conversion optimisation I think I know what I’m doing. So I guess this post is a bit of an about me page.

Previous Employment

Weirdly I started off in the financial world, initially working for Lewis Alexander in the failed IVA department. This wasn’t my thing from the start but I liked the idea of working in the marketing department of a finance company. So I was then employed by Tom Buckland in the seo for financial advisors division, which although was good, didn’t have exactly what I was looking for.

Next I looked into a few other SEO options and began to learn about seo and ppc. Working in the Cardiff SEO division, before moving to work for the London corporate branding agency and then moving again to Swindon to follow the search engine optimisation bandwagon. But again I found myself moving around too much and wanted to settle down with the mrs and start a family. So we eventually moved to Salisbury where I settled into my own freelance seo role.

I learnt SEO and PPC

In 2014 I began to learn SEO and PPC, mainly from my previous jobs but also on the side, reading up on what worked, what didn’t, learning to glaze over the myths and BS and actually following the right people in the industry. Paid advertising or PPC is something that is underutilised by so many businesses nowadays, many either don’t use it enough, do not scale it correctly or don’t actually even use it all together. SEO is a different kettle of fish, it takes time and money and hence most smaller companies simply don’t get involved in it, they hire people that cold email them and simply don’t know what they are doing, when they should be doing it in-house as SEO is the most profitable marketing method in the world. Bah only viral marketing, which is now included in the content marketing/SEO genre.

What to Expect?

What should you expect on this blog? Well, I’d say I will post once a week but I might be lying and depending on readership and how much people enjoy the content it might be more frequently or less frequently at times. But the content I will be posting will mainly be on opinions in the digital marketing world. SEO advice and training that small business owners might find helpful or even profitable.

Thanks for reading.